No one under the age of 14 years may operate a personal watercraft (PWC) on Florida waters at any time, even if such person possesses a Boating Safety Education I.D. Card. No one under the age of 18 years may rent/lease a PWC.
Can a 12 year old drive a jet ski in Florida?
A person shall be at least 14 years of age to drive a jet ski, or personal watercraft (PWC) in Florida. … It is unlawful for a person to knowingly allow a person under 14 years of age to operate a personal watercraft (PWC), or jet ski (a second-degree misdemeanor).
Do you need a license to ride a jet ski in Florida?
You DO need a boating license or at least a temporary boating certification to operate any personal watercraft. Florida residents: Florida law requires anyone who was born on or after Jan. … The license is good for a year and the open-book exam is typically offered an hour before your rental.
Can kids ride jet skis in Florida?
Florida: The PWC age limit in Florida is 14, and a safety course is mandatory for riders under the age of 21. Georgia: The age to ride is 12 in Georgia, and a safety course is required for riders between 12 and 15 years of age.
Can a 8 year old ride a jet ski?
As you can see, in most states the typical age limit to ride a jet ski is 12 to 18 years, however, it may vary from state to state. What’s more, beyond the minimum age, the law also may require obtaining a Boating Safety Course and providing onboard parental supervision.
Can a 14 year old drive a jet ski in Florida?
A person must be at least 14 years of age to operate a personal watercraft in Florida. A person must be at least 18 years of age to rent a personal watercraft in Florida. It is unlawful for a person to knowingly allow a person under 14 years of age to operate a personal watercraft (a second-degree misdemeanor).
Can a 17 year old drive a jet ski in Florida?
In Florida, state law is that a person must be at least 14 years old to operate a personal watercraft, and must be at least 18 years old to rent a personal watercraft. … Outside of those hours, personal watercraft cannot be operated on Florida waters, even if navigational lights are used.
How do I get a jet ski license in Florida?
To get your Boater Education Card, you will need to complete an approved boater education course in Florida. The course must be approved by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC). Your other option is to pass an approved equivalency test.
How old do you have to be to drive a jet ski?
A PWC is not a toy. No person under the age of 12 should ever drive a PWC. Never let children play with the controls. Direct supervision by an adult is strongly recommended for those aged 12–16.
What do I need to drive a jet ski in Florida?
Anyone born on or after January 1st, 1988 is required by law to have a boating license permit to operate a personal watercraft in the state of Florida.
Can a 10 year old go on a jet ski?
When taking your child on a personal watercraft, they must never sit in front of the driver. It is best if they sit between two adults or behind the driver. Children younger than 12 years old may not drive a jet ski, and children between 12 and 15 may operate a jet ski if supervised by someone older than 18.
Can a 4 year old be on a jet ski?
In most states and jurisdictions, children need to be at least 2 years old to be allowed to ride on a jet ski either behind or in front of an adult who is aged 18 years or older. In other areas, teenagers can start riding their own jet skis once aged 16 years or older.
Can a 6 year old ride a jet ski?
“Can kids ride jet skis?” – The good news is yes, kids can ride jet skis as passengers, but they are allowed to operate a jet ski legally only above a certain age. … Moreover, jet ski operators have to obtain a jet ski license (boating safety card) in many states, especially if they are minors.
Can a toddler ride passenger jet ski?
No child should be on board unless they can wear an appropriately-fitting PFD. … Place small children between two responsible adults on board. They will probably want to ride in the front, but this can be dangerous.
How much is a jet ski?
A new jet ski typically costs around $5,000 on the low end of the spectrum, but higher end jet skis can cost close to $20,000. The cheapest jet ski currently on the market in 2021 is the Sea-Doo Spark, and the most expensive is the Kawasaki Ultra 310LX.
How fast do jet skis go?
Jet skis can go pretty fast, usually 40 mph to 70 mph, depending on how calm the water is, the amount of wind resistance, and the weight of the passengers. We allow up to three jet ski riders with a max weight of 500 lbs, so its obvious that one person will go much faster than three.