Quick Answer: Do you have to be certified to scuba dive in Florida?

Florida has no law that requires scuba divers to be certified. … For this reason, it is highly recommended, for your own safety and for the safety of those diving with you, that you get your scuba certification.

Can you scuba dive without certification?

It is not illegal to dive without certification, but no reputable dive center or club would allow someone to dive with them without first being certified to scuba dive. … It’s not that diving is difficult, it just requires a specific set of skills.

What is needed to scuba dive in Florida?

As a certified open water diver, you’ll be trained to a maximum depth of 60 feet. To be eligible to take this beginner course, participants must be at least 10 years old and in good health, have good swimming skills, and be willing to make a time commitment of eight to 10 hours.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Is surfing a recreational activity?

How much does it cost to get scuba certified in Florida?

Open Water Certification

Course Price/Person Notes
PADI Open Water Full Course $550.00 Includes course fee and all rental
PADI Open Water Diver Referral $275.00 Plus mask, snorkel and fins rental & cert fee if did not do online course.

Can you buy scuba gear without certification?

There are a few things you will need to buy before beginning your in-water training. Generally, the scuba shop or resort you plan to get certified at will provide you with a tank, weights, a BC, regulator and dive computer.

How much does scuba certification cost?

The costs to get scuba certified will differ per location and country, but you should expect to pay anything between $350 and $500 USD per person to get scuba certified. This price should include all course materials and rental scuba gear.

Is scuba certification hard?

Is it hard to learn to scuba dive? As active recreational pastimes go, scuba diving is one of the easiest to learn. While you’re gliding around enjoying the underwater sights, you’re engaged in only three basic skills: floating, kicking and breathing. … The necessary skills are not tough for most people to master.

How do I become a certified scuba diver in Florida?

Requirements for Open Water Training:

  1. You must be 10 years old and students under 18 must have signed parental consent.
  2. You must be able to swim 200 yards continuously and do a 10 minute tread of water.
  3. Good overall health is required. …
  4. You must supply your own mask, fins and snorkel.
THIS IS INTERESTING:  Do you have to be athletic to wakeboard?

Can I get scuba certified online?

PADI Online Scuba Training. Start your scuba training digitally whenever, wherever it’s convenient for you. PADI eLearning is the easiest way to fit scuba lessons into your busy schedule. Work at your own pace, online or offline, using your computer or mobile device.

How long does it take to get scuba certified in Florida?

The course takes 6 partial days and includes Theory, Pool and 4 open water dives. It is normally completed over 2 weekends.

Is scuba diving expensive hobby?

Yes, scuba diving is an expensive hobby. You can expect to spend roughly $300 to receive your diving certification, anywhere from $200 – $2,000 on scuba diving gear, and anywhere between $75 – $150 per dive. Renting your gear instead of buying can let you scuba dive on a budget.

Can you go scuba diving in Florida?

With beautiful, crystal clear waters and great temperatures all year round, Florida is the perfect place to go Scuba diving as its the only place in the continental United States with a subtropical climate, so you will never be too cold!

How much does a full set of scuba gear cost?

It largely depends on how often you get to dive. Buying a basic scuba gear set would cost around $300, and a complete scuba gear set would go up to $1000 and more. Renting a scuba gear unit would cost you less, at just $30, and it would be a better solution if you plan to dive only once a year or during a vacation.

Can I dive without my PADI card?

Do I Need My PADI Card To Dive? Technically, you do not need your physical card to scuba dive. Dive centers will need to verify and check that you are a certified diver, but most dive centers can do this online within the PADI system.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What do ice divers wear?

How long does it take to become a certified scuba diver?

How Long Does the Certification Process Take? Around three to four days is pretty common! If you choose to do the online course and learn diving knowledge at home, that will quicken the process.